Attitudes in Phuket have slipped badly (Thailand)

On Saturday I arrived for my 28th year of long-term visits to Phuket. Unfortunately I witnessed one of the most disgraceful incidents I have ever seen from a government official.

After disembarking from the plane I joined one of two immigration queues that were open. Sitting at a third booth was a surly immigration officer who was sitting with his arms crossed, completely disinterested in opening his channel. A Singaporean man politely asked him if he was going to open his channel and this official just gave this tourist a look of complete disdain, not bothering to even answer his inquiry.

To make things even worse, about 30 seconds after the man left to join another queue he then immediately opened his booth. About 50 or more incoming tourists saw this and I heard the muttered angry comments they made. This one malcontent had just single-handedly destroyed many tourists’ idea of Thais being friendly people.

Read more in The Nation

Text:”Disgusted Farang” – Phuket

About Antoni Uni

I am born in Haarlem, the Netherlands, and went to Spain, l'Escala - Costabrava, in 1988. After 15 years I made a mistake and went travelling in S.E. Asia. and in 2005 I dropped down in Bangkok where I still live. https://www.antoniuniphotography.com/ My website, more than 30.000 photos, is: https://www.antoniuniphotography.com/
This entry was posted in Thai general news and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Attitudes in Phuket have slipped badly (Thailand)

  1. Coralie says:

    I’m grtfaeul you made the post. It’s cleared the air for me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.