BANGKOK: Cabby crackdown hits 1300 drivers

Shoppers wait for taxis at a taxi stand of Siam Paragon shopping complex. (Bangkok Post file photo)

The Department of Land Transport on Sunday said it had fined almost 1300 taxi drivers caught breaching regulations, mostly for not displaying licences and refusing passengers, in the Ratchaprasong and Siam areas in the past eight months.

read more

“Mr Sanit said a total of 1,283 drivers had been fined for various offences since March 24″ (2015)”

1.283 of 70.000 – 200.000 taxis in Bangkok…………………..!

I’m sure these figures aren’t right because most of the farangs aren’t speaking Thai. I don’t take a taxi in the busy areas like lower Sukhumvit and surroundings for example because there this crime is dreadful! I better drive with the BRT to at least On Nut where they refuse less.

Also when the driver opens the window to ask where I want to go I refuse him already!

Very little they are refusing to put on the meter and when they want to discuss the price I ask them to stop and go out. Once one was returning after a couple of minutes and said “yes, yes, meter!”. I refused him although I had to wait a bit longer. It was a trip of around forty kilometer from the suburbs into the city.

About Antoni Uni

I am born in Haarlem, the Netherlands, and went to Spain, l'Escala - Costabrava, in 1988. After 15 years I made a mistake and went travelling in S.E. Asia. and in 2005 I dropped down in Bangkok where I still live. Mijn website met foto's is: http://www.antoniuniphotography.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

