Battling Dolphin Deaths: 8th Grader Reports from Japan

I have seen movies about Dolphin-hunting before and NEVER ate Dolphin-meat ever since!

NOTE: The slaughter and torment of dolphins was too urgent for Ben Werdegar to take on “when he graduates” – even from middle school. He’s in Japan now hoping to make a difference. Here is his first report for Care2.

My name is Ben and I am an 8th grade student in California. At around 4:30 p.m. Monday I arrived in Osaka, Japan with my father. The goal I had of finally being able to get close to the scene of the terrible dolphin slaughter, to experience first hand the horror of it is about to come true. I want to be here because the sense of closeness to the dolphins inspires me, and I hope I in turn can inspire others to do more to stop it.

Tuesday morning we are taking the train to Katsuura, just a few minutes from Taiji on the Pacific coast of Southern Japan. I have no idea what to expect; I am absolutely clueless about what will happen to us in Taiji just for being there. I don’t expect much from this trip as this is just the beginning of a very long process I will be going through in order to do what I can to stop the slaughter.

Read more in Care2

This entry was posted in Animal abuse - various and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

